Home / Notification / Notification


The Department of Immigration would like to inform the general public that the import of foreign workers into the country shall be facilitated as per the Zoning System introduced vide notification no. THA(03)/Notification/2021/1 dated 1 September 2021.

Henceforth, all foreign workers shall be required to enter the country based on the location of their worksites in accordance with the Zoning System outlined below without exception:

  1. Samtse Port of Entry
    • Samtse Dzongkhag
    • Haa Dzongkhag
    • Paro Dzongkhag
  2. Phuentsholing Port of Entry
    • Chukha Dzongkhag
    • Thimphu Dzongkhag
    • Gasa Dzongkhag
  3. Gelephu Port of Entry
    • Sarpang Dzongkhag
    • Tsirang Dzongkhag
    • Dagana Dzongkhag
    • Wangdiphodrang Dzongkhag
    • Punakha Dzongkhag
    • Trongsa Dzongkhag
    • Bumthang Dzongkhag
    • Zhemgang Dzongkhag
  4. SamdrupJongkhar Port of Entry
    •  SamdrupJongkhar Dzongkhag
    • PemaGatshel Dzongkhag
    • Tashigang Dzongkhag
    • TashiYangtse Dzongkhag
    • Mongar Dzongkhag
    • Lhuentse Dzongkhag

All employers are requested to comply with the Zoning System. Details are available at www.doi.gov.bt and www.molhr.gov.bt and for any clarification or queries, please contact Service Division, Department of Immigration at 02-330874/02-331263 or PABX: 02-323127 (ext. 113/125).

Director General
Department of Immigration
8 December 2021